You are currently viewing Kashrut Abroad – What is Allowed to Eat Without a Stamp?

Kashrut Abroad – What is Allowed to Eat Without a Stamp?

  • Post comments:1 Comment

Did you also think that 100% fruit juice can be bought without fear of kosher anywhere in the world? Or were you sure that the sardine box had no problem? And butter? So the answer is no. After a conversation with Rabbi Yosef Zaritzky, a world-renowned kashrut expert, it turns out that not everything that is commonly thought to be kosher, It’s indeed kosher.

Products That Can Be Eaten Without Kashrut Problems Abroad


Fruits and Vegetables

Whole fruits and vegetables can be eaten without worry. In fruits that may be imported from Israel (mainly citrus fruits and avocados), it is recommended to check them (usually with a sticker with JAFFA markings, etc’).

Dried Fruit

Dates, raisins, plums, cranberries, apricot, peach, apple, pear, quince, chestnuts, pumpkin seeds – allowed.

Dried fruits with the blessing of the “fruit of the soil” like banana chips, pineapple, papaya – need kashrut supervision.


Almonds and natural nuts – allowed.

Frozen vegetables

Kosher. If they are of a type that may concern insects (such as parsley, spinach leaves, broccoli, cauliflower, etc.), they must be examined.


Eggs and Dairy Products

Eggs – can be bought anywhere. It is worth buying the whites (brown eggs often have blood)


There is a difference between kashrut guards who use the “Chalav Israel” and those who don’t strict about it.

Those who are not strict on Chalav Israel can consume simple milk (milk only, not cheese or other dairy products) in regulated countries, which supervise that the milk will be only cow’s milk, such as the US and Western Europe (where government control is less meticulous – forbidden).


Basic Products - Groceries

Olive oil – in countries where the law supervises its production – is permitted.

Salt – regular table salt and thick salt don’t require kashrut at all.

Sugar – white sugar and brown sugar don’t require kashrut.

Rice – all kinds of rice, including whole rice, wild rice, and black rice, do not require kashrut and there is no fear of the coating of forbidden oils.

Dry Legumes – if not processed – are allowed.

Tomato paste – allowed, provided it is indicated that it is 100% natural.

Rice cakes can be bought anywhere in the world



Honey – pure honey


Sweet paprika without oil, whole black pepper and whole English pepper, sesame seeds, flax seeds, caraway seeds, Nigella.



A live or frozen fish is permitted if it definitely looks like a kosher fish, or if it has scales.

Frozen fish that you buy at the supermarket – when you buy a skinless fillet you have to check that there are scales on it.

Fresh fish – It is better to buy whole fish, because of the knife that the seller also uses for non-kosher fish.



Mineral water

Soda – free flavors

Coca-Cola (including Diet) Pepsi, Panetta, Shoppes – are acceptable. Sprite of a regular Coca-Cola company and Dyet (except in England) does not need a kashrut certificate worldwide.

Beer – white and black beer with no added flavors.

Vodka without flavors of the companies: Finlandia, Absolut, Van Gogh – are without fear kashrut.

Smirnoff vodka – kosher, except for products manufactured in England.

Hot Drinks

Coffee and tea: allowed in a disposable cup. Desirable avoid “Chalav Akum” (you can drink with soy milk).

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply